This week marks the 40th Anniversary of the No Nukes Concerts at MSG!

Musicians United for Safe Energy, or MUSE, was an activist group founded in 1979 by Jackson Browne​, Graham Nash​, Bonnie Raitt, and John Hall. The group advocated against the use of nuclear energy, forming shortly after the Three Mile Island nuclear accident in March 1979. MUSE organized a series of five No Nukes concerts held at Madison Square Garden​ in New York City in September 1979. On September 23, 1979, almost 200,000 people attended a large rally staged by MUSE on the then-empty north end of the Battery Park City landfill in New York. Today marks the 40th anniversary of the first concert, held on September 19, 1979.

Over five nights, the concerts featured Crosby, Stills and Nash; Jackson Browne; James Taylor​; Carly Simon​; John Hall; Graham Nash; Bonnie Raitt; Bruce Springsteen​ & the E Street Band; Chaka Khan​; The Doobie Brothers​; Jesse Colin Young​; Gil Scott Heron​; Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers​; Poco and many, many dedicated musicians, singers, crew members, stage, production and management professionals that worked together to bring the message of safe energy to enthusiastic and supportive audiences.

Rolling Stone​ raved, "The MUSE NO NUKES Concerts of 1979 were a high-water mark of inspiration and optimism...a stunning testimony to the depth of the shared beliefs of the generation which came of age in the sixties."

Here is a video for "Power" as performed by many of the MUSE artists on September 23, 1979.